Klastós.

We, without wings, step off the ledge
Falling with ambered visions of future
Harrowed is our flight.
Vibratory motion disquiets our shadow – reaching towards a fractus past.

~ by kagomesakura on June 26, 2011.

20 Responses to “Klastós.”

  1. Interesting word choices. In particular, “fractus” and “vibratory” are great words in that they aren’t easy to use in poetry, but you’ve managed to make it work in a very elegant way. The mood in this is very haunting, but also quite beautiful. Nicely done. 🙂

    • Thanks for your kind words. Lately I’ve had a passion for the words fractal and harrow. Some how I managed to get both of them in this piece. I’m happy with how it turned out. Originally I had started another line at the end but felt less was more.
      Now for a title. Perhaps one will come to mind or perhaps not…

  2. very beautiful composition.

  3. very rich and moving

  4. INteresting words combined quite nicely!

  5. Falling into a shadow can hurt!

  6. very thoughtful choice of words…short but heavy 🙂

  7. Suicide is almost always poignant, but I like this metaphor of life being a suicide jump, a reach towards the “fractus past”- which I took to be the Platonic Ideal. Nice economy of words.

    • I wasn’t thinking suicide by any means when I wrote this… It’s more closely related to taking a chance and jumping into the unknown. However, we all don’t land on our feet.

      • Hmm… I guess I leaped to the wrong conclusion 😛 But with a title like Klastos and such imagery as stepping off ledges, falling, and harrowed flight you can’t exactly blame me. And the “vibratory motion disquiets our shadow” for me was either: A)the flailing on the way down or B)the impact. I also thought “ambered visions of future” meant that the jumper either A)regretted jumping and realized what a bright future he could have had or B)had such a dismal life that his death is rosy in comparison. It’s funny how what we write can be completely misinterpreted. That’s why I like poetry. 😉

  8. Like your choice of words. Makes the poem’s imagery vivid.

  9. Thought-provoking piece.

  10. Beautifully written and wonderful message

  11. inventive words.
    keep us inspired.

  12. I really enjoyed the “descent” your poem evoked. It caused me to wonder about growing wings!
    : – ) Very beautiful work. cindy

  13. I hear that, makes me think of roofing, Thank you, much appreciated, WS

  14. cool poem… Short yet effective! 🙂

  15. I have to echo previous comments and applaud you for your choice of words and how you have mananged to incorporate them to produce a brilliant poem

Leave a Reply

 
